Munson Medical Center names new president

Alfred Pilong Jr. will serve as the new President of Munson Medical Center.

Munson Medical Center has a new president.

After an extensive national search, Alfred E. Pilong Jr. was named the new president of the medical center starting on April 3.

Pilong previously served as president of Winchester Medical Center in Winchester, Virginia, where he was also senior vice president of the multi-hospital Valley Health System.

"Al comes to us highly recommended, with demonstrated success in addressing the challenging quality and operational issues we face," said Ed Ness, Munson Healthcare President and CEO.

Under Pilong's leadership, Winchester Medical Center was named in U.S. News and World Report's list of best regional hospitals. Winchester also received a Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade A as well as being designated as a Magnet hospital for nursing excellence.

Pilong also served as vice president of professional and ambulatory services at Bayhealth Medical Center in Dover, Delaware.

"I am excited to be joining an organization with such a high commitment to quality patient care, a talented clinical team, an outstanding medical staff and a strong reputation in the community," Pilong said. " I couldn't be more pleased with this tremendous opportunity and am thrilled to be relocating to such a wonderful part of the country."

Ness said Kathleen McManus, who is retiring from her position as CEO and executive vice president of Munson Medical Center this fall, will work closely will Pilong during his transition.

"This returns us to a leadership structure that has been in place successfully during most of Munson Healthcare's 28-year history," Ness said. "I will continue on as president and CEO of Munson Healthcare and will focus my efforts on developing a financially stable, clinically coordinated, integrated health system."

Pilong is a Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives and has served as a member of the Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association Quality and Safety Committee. He remains a member of the American Society of Health System Pharmacists.