Michigan takes action against operator of Bellaire auto shop
ANTRIM COUNTY, Mich. (WPBN/WGTU)--The State of Michigan has issued a cease and desist order against a person in Bellaire due to his unlawful operation of an unregistered repair facility.
Secretary of State Ruth Johnson made the announcement Wednesday.
Johnson says Roger McQueen is alleged to have performed auto repair work for customers at 731 E. Cayuga St. without having registered with the state.
We're told in July, a Secretary of State investigator acting on an anonymous tip observed repairs being performed at the location and several vehicles in various states of repair. McQueen was warned and advised to obtain a facility registration. A follow-up inspection last week revealed that repairs were still being performed although a repair facility application has not been submitted. The cease and desist order was issued Wednesday.
Consumers who have a complaint against McQueen are encouraged to call the Office of Investigative Services Automotive Complaint Line at 517-335-1410. Under Michigan law, a customer is entitled to recover any amount paid to an unregistered facility for the repair of a motor vehicle belonging to that customer.
“Repair facilities must comply with the law,” Johnson said. “If they do not, we will take action to bring them into compliance to protect consumers.”
Johnson encourages consumers to always verify the repair shop they are using is registered with the state and licensed to perform the type of automotive work they need done. As part of her focus on strengthening her office’s consumer protection efforts, Johnson created the Office of Investigative Services, which investigates and inspects automotive-related businesses.
The cease and desist order prohibits McQueen from performing any further automotive repairs unless a license is obtained. State law provides that any person who knowingly provides automotive repair services without a registration or certificate is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 90 days in jail or a fine of up to $1,000, or both.