National Writers Series kicks off new season

Many in Northern Michigan have been eagerly awaiting the list of authors that will be featured in this season's National Writers Series.

Thursday night, dozens braved the snow and made it out to the City Opera House in Traverse City to hear all of the writers visiting between now and June.

The season opened Thursday night with Chip Johannessen, a writer and producer of Showtime's "Homeland."

The season list is as follows:

March 5- Buzz Bissinger (with Neal Rubin)

April 9- Blaine Harden (with Lucas Wittmann)

April 25- Gillian Flynn (with Doug Stanton)

May 14- Nathaniel Philbrick (Rich Fahle)

May 22- Jason Matthews (with Doug Stanton)

June 6-Colum McCann (with Leigh Haber)

June 24- Temple Grandin (with Laura Hohnhold)

Tickets are available at the City Opera House or on their website.