UP counties get different quarantine designations

Michigan officials have given the same designation to eight Upper Peninsula counties included in a quarantine that's designed to stop the spread of the emerald ash borer.

Previously, portions of the counties known to be infested with the tree-killing insect had a different designation than areas without the ash borer. The Department of Agriculture and Rural Development said Tuesday the revision will put all the counties at the same level.

The counties include Alger, Chippewa, Delta, Houghton, Luce, Keweenaw, Mackinac and Schoolcraft.

The U.P. counties of Baraga, Dickinson, Gogebic, Iron, Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon and Marquette aren't included in the quarantine, but officials ask people across the peninsula not to move firewood that might be carrying the ash borer. The beetle has killed 50 ash trees in Michigan and neighboring states.