American Indian mascot complaint dismissed by federal officials

      A federal agency has dismissed a complaint seeking to ban the use of American Indian mascots in Michigan's K-12 schools.

      A federal agency has dismissed a complaint seeking to ban the use of American Indian mascots in Michigan's K-12 schools.

      In February, the Michigan Department of Civil Rights cited

      35 Michigan school districts

      for discrimination, saying their mascots reinforce stereotypes and hurt American Indian students' self-esteem and learning.

      The schools in northern Michigan cited in the complaint include: Cheboygan Area School District, Chippewa Hills School District and Morley Stanwood Community Schools.

      However, the

      U.S. Education Department's Office

      of Civil Rights denied the state's complaint last week. Federal officials say Michigan officials provided no specific examples of racial incidents or American Indian students suffering specific harm because of the reported discrimination.

      The state civil rights department said Monday it's disappointed by the ruling and is considering its options.

      Michigan's complaint to the federal government has drawn criticism from Republican lawmakers who say it was misguided and done without input from communities.

      The full list of schools cited by the Michigan Department of Civil Rights are below:

      Athens Area Schools

      Bay City Public Schools

      Belding Area Schools

      Birmingham Brother Rice

      Woodhaven Brownstown School District

      Camden-Frontier School District

      Capac Community Schools

      Cheboygan Area School District

      Chesaning Union Schools

      Chippewa Valley Schools

      Clinton Community Schools

      Dowagiac Union Schools

      Gladstone Area Public Schools

      Grass Lake Community Schools

      Hartford Public Schools

      North Huron School District

      JW Sexton High School, Lansing School District

      Marquette Area Public Schools

      Morley Stanwood Community Schools

      Huron School District

      Tahquamenon Area Schools

      Paw Paw Public School District

      Plymouth-Canton Community Schools

      Port Huron Area School District

      Chippewa Hills School District

      Sandusky Community Schools

      Saranac Community Schools

      Saugatuck Public Schools

      Tawas Area Schools

      Tecumseh Public Schools

      Tekonsha Community Schools

      Utica Community Schools

      Walled Lake Consolidated School District

      White Cloud School District

      White Pigeon Community Schools