KALAMAZOO COUNTY, Mich. — The new Michigan Move Over Law went into effect Feb. 13, which now requires a specific speed limit reduction for motorists passing a traffic stop -- 10 miles per hour below the posted speed limit.
"The law's always required motorist to slow down and change into an available lane outside of the lane where the emergency vehicle is. It's also changed from a misdemeanor to a civil infraction with a $400 fine,” said Sgt. David Moran with the Kalamazoo Department of Public Safety.
Moran said it can also add two points to your driving record.
He said the intent of the law is to protect all parties involved in a traffic stop. It applies to any police, fire, tow and/or emergency vehicles with flashing lights on.
“It really just gives you an extra peace of mind you have that space to operate in so you don't get hurt or the person you're speaking with,” he said.
For more information on the Michigan Move Over Law, click here.